How to use the Delete Prior option

Article ID: KB00133

Type: Support Content

Last Modified: 12-15-2011

 

Product(s) Affected:

  • BlackBerry 7 OS and earlier
CollapseEnvironment
  • BlackBerry® smartphone
CollapseOverview

The Delete Prior option removes all the messages on the BlackBerry smartphone prior to and including the date selected.

Email messages are not deleted from the Inbox in your email client when the Delete Prior option is used on the BlackBerry smartphone.

Follow these steps to use the Delete Prior option:

  1. In the Messages screen on the BlackBerry smartphone, highlight the date from which you want to delete all prior messages.
  2. Click the Trackwheel/Menu key and select Delete Prior.
  3. Click Delete. (All messages prior to and including this date are deleted.)

 

CollapseAdditional Information

It is also possible to perform a Delete Prior of messages that were located by the Search function. After you search for messages, follow the same steps

The deletion of messages when using this function on the BlackBerry smartphone will not reconcile to your Inbox.

 

Disclaimer

By downloading, accessing or otherwise using the Knowledge Base documents you agree:

   (a) that the terms of use for the documents found at www.blackberry.com/legal/knowledgebase apply to your use or reference to these documents; and

   (b) not to copy, distribute, disclose or reproduce, in full or in part any of the documents without the express written consent of RIM.


Visit the BlackBerry Technical Solution Center at www.blackberry.com/btsc.