How to clear the user content databases from the BlackBerry smartphone

Article ID: KB10167

Type: Support Content

Last Modified: 07-30-2012

 

Product(s) Affected:

  • Desktop Software (Windows)
  • Desktop Software (Mac OS)
Jump to: Environment | Overview
CollapseEnvironment
  • BlackBerry® Desktop Manager 4.2 to 5.0 SP1
  • BlackBerry® Desktop Software 6.0 to 7.1 
  • BlackBerry® Desktop Software for Mac
CollapseOverview

BlackBerry® smartphone user content databases contain all of the user's information, including contacts, calendar, and memos. They also contain setting information, such as SureType® input method options.

It is sometimes necessary to clear the content from one of these databases.

There are two ways to clear databases from the BlackBerry smartphone:

Warning: Make sure to back up BlackBerry smartphone data before clearing a database. For more information, see KB12487. Clearing a database permanently deletes all of the data contained in the database. To view the data that each database contains, see KB03974.

Note: Wireless synchronization must be disabled if BlackBerry smartphone is currently active on a BlackBerry Enterprise Server. Follow the steps below to accomplish this task.

  1. Open the organizer data application to be synchronized (address book, calendar, memos or tasks).
  2. With the application open, press the Menu key and select Options.
  3. Next, clear the Wireless Synchronization check box (for the calendar or address book, first select the calendar or contact list that has wireless synchronization enabled, such as Desktop, Gmail®, or Yahoo!® [Yahoo! is only for contact lists]).
  4. Press the Menu key and select Save, or press the Escape key and select Save

Method 1

To clear individual databases from the BlackBerry smartphone, complete the following steps:

BlackBerry Desktop Software 6.0 to 7.1

Connect the BlackBerry smartphone to the computer.

  1. Open the BlackBerry Desktop Software.
  2. Click the Device menu and select Delete data.
  3. Select the appropriate option to perform:
    • All data - clears all data on the BlackBerry smartphone.
    • Selected data - clears only data from selected database.
    • Back up data before deleting - will backup selected data before deleting.

BlackBerry Desktop Manager 5.0 SP1 and earlier

  1. Connect the BlackBerry smartphone to the computer.
  2. Open the BlackBerry Desktop Manager.
  3. Click Backup and Restore and then click Advanced.
  4. From the list of Device Databases, select the appropriate database. For example, to clear email messages, select Messages.
  5. Click Clear.
  6. In the Warning dialog box, click OK.
  7. Click Refresh to confirm that the database has been cleared.

For BlackBerry Desktop Software for Mac

  1. Connect the smartphone to the Mac computer.
  2. In the BlackBerry Desktop Software, click Device in the menu bar and click Clear Data.
  3. Select the appropriate option to perform:
    • All data - clears all data on the BlackBerry smartphone.
    • Selected data - clears only data from selected databases.
    • Back up data before clearing - will backup selected data before deleting
  4. Click Clear.

Method 2

To clear all databases from the BlackBerry smartphone, use the Wipe Handheld option. For more information, see KB14058.

Disclaimer

By downloading, accessing or otherwise using the Knowledge Base documents you agree:

   (a) that the terms of use for the documents found at www.blackberry.com/legal/knowledgebase apply to your use or reference to these documents; and

   (b) not to copy, distribute, disclose or reproduce, in full or in part any of the documents without the express written consent of RIM.


Visit the BlackBerry Technical Solution Center at www.blackberry.com/btsc.