Messages saved in a PST file are not reconciled with the BlackBerry smartphone

Article ID: KB13140

Type: Support Content

Last Modified: 06-24-2013

 

Product(s) Affected:

  • BlackBerry Enterprise Server for Microsoft Exchange
CollapseEnvironment
  • BlackBerry Enterprise Server 3.6 to 5.0 for Microsoft Exchange
  • BlackBerry smartphones
  • Microsoft Outlook
CollapseOverview

Email messages that are saved on a local computer from the Microsoft Outlook inbox to a Microsoft Outlook Personal Storage (PST) file remain on the BlackBerry smartphone. These messages cannot be reconciled by the BlackBerry smartphone. The BlackBerry smartphone is unable to detect where on the local computer the email message was moved and leaves the message on the BlackBerry smartphone.

The Hard Deletes Reconciliation option can be enabled in BlackBerry Enterprise Server 4.1 to 5.0 with following steps.  When this option is enabled, email messages are removed from the Messages database on the BlackBerry smartphone when email messages are permanently deleted in Microsoft Outlook by moving the messages to a PST file. By default, Hard Deletes Reconciliation is disabled. 

Turn on reconciliation for permanently deleted messages for BlackBerry Enterprise Server 5.0 for Microsoft Exchange Server:

  1. In the BlackBerry Administration Service, on the Servers and components menu, expand BlackBerry Solution topology > BlackBerry Domain > Component view > Email.
  2. Click the instance that is to be changed.
  3. Click Edit instance.
  4. On the Messaging tab, in the Messaging options section, in the Hard deletes reconciliation drop-down list, click True.
  5. Click Save all.
  6. On the computer that hosts the BlackBerry Dispatcher, restart the BlackBerry Dispatcher.

Turn on reconciliation for permanently deleted messages for BlackBerry Enterprise Server 4.1 for Microsoft Exchange Server:

  1. In the BlackBerry Manager, in the left pane, click a BlackBerry Enterprise Server.
  2. On the Server Configuration tab, click Edit Properties.
  3. In the left pane, click Messaging.
  4. In the Messaging Options section, in the Hard Deletes Reconciliation drop-down list, click True.
  5. Click OK.
  6. On the computer that hosts the BlackBerry Dispatcher, restart the BlackBerry Dispatcher.
CollapseAdditional Information
For more information refer to the BlackBerry Enterprise Server Administration Guide for the applicable version of BES here.

Disclaimer

By downloading, accessing or otherwise using the Knowledge Base documents you agree:

   (a) that the terms of use for the documents found at www.blackberry.com/legal/knowledgebase apply to your use or reference to these documents; and

   (b) not to copy, distribute, disclose or reproduce, in full or in part any of the documents without the express written consent of RIM.


Visit the BlackBerry Technical Solution Center at www.blackberry.com/btsc.