How to delete and reload the data in the Calendar application of a BlackBerry smartphone over the wireless network

Article ID: KB15139

Type: Support Content

Last Modified: 01-12-2012

 

Product(s) Affected:

  • BlackBerry 7 OS and earlier
CollapseEnvironment
  • BlackBerry® Enterprise Server
  • BlackBerry® Device Software version 4.2 to 6.0
  • BlackBerry smartphone
  • SDR78975
CollapseOverview

Warning: The following procedures will delete all calendar data on the BlackBerry® smartphone and re-synchronize the calendar back to the BlackBerry smartphone.

Note: Back up the data prior to performing the procedure. For instructions, see article KB12487 .

Complete the steps for the version of BlackBerry® Device Software installed on the BlackBerry smartphone.

BlackBerry Device Software version 4.2

On the BlackBerry smartphone, complete the following steps:

  1. On the menu in the Calendar application, click Options.
  2. Scroll to the bottom of the screen, and type RSET.

Note: For BlackBerry smartphones that support SureType® technology, use the multi-tap input method.

BlackBerry Device Software version 4.3 to 6.0

On the BlackBerry smartphone, complete the following steps:

  1. On the menu in the Calendar application, click Options.
  2. In the Options screen, type RSET.

Note: For BlackBerry smartphones that support SureType technology, use the multi-tap input method.

CollapseAdditional Information

Wireless calendar synchronization process

If wireless synchronization of the calendar is turned on, the following message will appear:

This will erase your <nameofcalendar> calendar, and reload it from your server. Continue?

After the calendar data has been deleted, the following message will appear:

The <nameofcalendar> calendar has been wiped. It will be repopulated from your server.

The calendar will be repopulated with calendar data from the BlackBerry Enterprise Server.

 Wireless calendar synchronization is turned off

If wireless synchronization of the calendar is turned off, the following message will appear:

Wireless Calendar, for <nameofcalendar>, is not enabled. Wipe Calendar anyway?

After the calendar data has been deleted, the following message will appear:

The <nameofcalendar> calendar has been wiped.

The calendar must then be repopulated with calendar data using BlackBerry Desktop Manager through a wired synchronization.

 Re-population of calendar

During re-population of the calendar, the following message may appear on the BlackBerry smartphone:

Organizing Calendar

The performance of the BlackBerry smartphone may be affected during the re-population of the calendar. The speed of re-population depends on the amount of data transmitted and the speed of the wireless network.

Disclaimer

By downloading, accessing or otherwise using the Knowledge Base documents you agree:

   (a) that the terms of use for the documents found at www.blackberry.com/legal/knowledgebase apply to your use or reference to these documents; and

   (b) not to copy, distribute, disclose or reproduce, in full or in part any of the documents without the express written consent of RIM.


Visit the BlackBerry Technical Solution Center at www.blackberry.com/btsc.