- BlackBerry 10 OS
- Novell Data Synchronizer 1.2
- Microsoft Exchange Server 2003
- Microsoft ActiveSync 2.5
- PR 289164
- PR 304654
Instead of deleting messages, use the File option to place the messages into another folder within the same mailbox. This will move the messages to from the inbox to the specified folder on both the smartphone and the inbox on the mail server instead of removing them permanently.
To ensure messages are hidden from the BlackBerry Hub once filed on the BlackBerry 10 smartphone:
- Open the BlackBerry Hub.
- Tap the action button (three vertical dots) on the bottom-right of the screen.
- Select Settings > Display and Actions.
- Toggle Show Filed Messages to Off.
Note: For ActiveSync, If the user is moved from Exchange 2003 to 2007 or 2010, this issue is not present. This symptom does not appear when the smartphone is enrolled with a mailbox associated in either of these servers.
If an email is integrated using Microsoft ActiveSync settings, then email messages that are deleted on the smartphone typically are moved to a Trash or Deleted Items folder on the mail server. This issue is present when an ActiveSync integration is done against an Exchange 2003 Server or Novell Data Synchronizer version 1.2. Both these servers utilize ActiveSync version 2.5. Exchange Servers 2007 and 2010 do not have this issue.
Note: This behaviour can also occur if the email is integrated as a POP account.
By downloading, accessing or otherwise using the Knowledge Base documents you agree:
(b) not to copy, distribute, disclose or reproduce, in full or in part any of the documents without the express written consent of RIM.
Visit the BlackBerry Technical Solution Center at www.blackberry.com/btsc.