How to clean reload the BlackBerry 10 OS or BlackBerry PlayBook OS using BlackBerry Link

Article ID: KB34045

Type: Support Content

Last Modified: 07-10-2015

 

Product(s) Affected:

  • BlackBerry 10 OS
  • BlackBerry Link
  • BlackBerry PlayBook tablets
Jump to: Environment | Overview
CollapseEnvironment
  • BlackBerry 10 OS
  • BlackBerry PlayBook OS
  • BlackBerry Link
CollapseOverview

Note: 

  • As the following procedure will delete all data and applications on the BlackBerry device, If possible, back up your data prior to reloading device software. See KB33526 for steps.
  • Only reload device software when instructed to do so by BlackBerry Technical Support Services or by another Knowledge Base (KB) article.
     
  • Troubleshooting should always be completed before reloading device software. If appropriate troubleshooting has been completed and the device continues to experience an issue, contact your wireless service provider or administrator to further troubleshoot the issue and escalate to BlackBerry Technical Support Services.

If you have been instructed to reload the device software, complete the following steps:

On Windows:

  1. Ensure the computer is connected to the Internet.
  2. Install the latest version of BlackBerry Blend (includes BlackBerry Link) here: www.blackberry.com/blend
  3. Power off the BlackBerry device.
  4. Open BlackBerry Link.
  5. Connect the device to the computer with the USB cable.
  6. Under the Devices heading, click the device name when it is displayed.
    Note: If the device is not detected, at the top-right click Preferences.
  7. Under Reload Device Software, click Reload.
  8. Click OK.

On Mac OS:

  1. Ensure the computer is connected to the Internet.
  2. Install the latest version of BlackBerry Blend (includes BlackBerry Link) here: www.blackberry.com/blend
  3. Power off the BlackBerry device.
  4. Open BlackBerry Link.
  5. Connect the device to the computer with the USB cable.
  6. In the menu bar at the top-left of the screen, click BlackBerry Link > Preferences.
  7. Under the Reload tab, click Reload.

Disclaimer

By downloading, accessing or otherwise using the Knowledge Base documents you agree:

   (a) that the terms of use for the documents found at www.blackberry.com/legal/knowledgebase apply to your use or reference to these documents; and

   (b) not to copy, distribute, disclose or reproduce, in full or in part any of the documents without the express written consent of RIM.


Visit the BlackBerry Technical Solution Center at www.blackberry.com/btsc.