Credentials are not accepted when the user selects 'Not Now' or 'Never' when prompted to save credentials

Article ID: KB35708

Type: Support Content

Last Modified: 03-21-2014

 

Product(s) Affected:

  • BlackBerry 10 OS
CollapseEnvironment
  • BlackBerry 10 OS version 10.2.1.1925
  • BlackBerry Enterprise Service 10
  • JI 563570
CollapseOverview

When the BlackBerry 10 smartphone is enrolled on BlackBerry Enterprise Service 10 and the user attempts to browse internal websites that utilize Kerberos authentication, the user may be prompted for credentials.

Authentication will fail if the user selects Not Now or Never.

CollapseResolution
This is a previously reported issue that is being investigated by our development team. A resolution is currently unavailable.
CollapseWorkaround

When prompted for credentials select Save. However, if visiting the same website again users will be re-prompted for credentials.

On BlackBerry Enterprise Service 10 version 10.2 it is also possible to configure Trusted Domains (see page 45 of the BDS Advanced Administration Guide).

Specify trusted domains following the steps below:

Note: Specifying trusted domains is available for BlackBerry 10 smartphones running a BlackBerry 10 OS version 10.2.1 or later.

  1. In the BlackBerry Administration Service, on the Devices menu, expand Device settings.
  2. Click Enterprise authentication.
  3. On the Trusted domains tab, click Edit settings.
  4. Enter the domain name that users will see on their devices when prompted for their corporate credentials.
  5. In the Domain field, do one or more of the following:
    • To specify a list of trusted subdomains and individual hosts where the domain credentials can be used to authenticate automatically, click the Add icon.
      The server name can be specified as an FQDN, hostname, alias, or IP address.
      In addition, DNS names can contain wildcards (*) to represent the leftmost part of the domain name.
    • To delete a subdomain or host from the list, click the Delete icon to the right of the subdomain or host in the list.
  6. Click Save All.

Configuring Trusted Domains allows the device to save credentials for sites within those domains, effectively suppressing the repeat authentication requests.

Disclaimer

By downloading, accessing or otherwise using the Knowledge Base documents you agree:

   (a) that the terms of use for the documents found at www.blackberry.com/legal/knowledgebase apply to your use or reference to these documents; and

   (b) not to copy, distribute, disclose or reproduce, in full or in part any of the documents without the express written consent of RIM.


Visit the BlackBerry Technical Solution Center at www.blackberry.com/btsc.