Reset BlackBerry smartphone after an application upgrade pushed from the BlackBerry Enterprise Server

Article ID: KB04508

Type: Support Content

Last Modified: 12-15-2011

 

Product(s) Affected:

  • BlackBerry Enterprise Server for Microsoft Exchange
CollapseEnvironment
  • BlackBerry® smartphones
  • BlackBerry® Device Software 4.0 SP2
  • BlackBerry Enterprise Server version 4.0 SP1 for Microsoft® Exchange
  • SDR64931
CollapseOverview

The BlackBerry smartphone prompts the user to restart their BlackBerry smartphone after updating or installing an application pushed from the BlackBerry Enterprise Server. This message may appear for the following reasons:

  1. You use the BlackBerry Handheld Configuration Tool to push an application wirelessly from the BlackBerry Enterprise Server to BlackBerry smartphones.
  2. You acquire an upgrade to the application and push it out to the BlackBerry smartphones.
CollapseResolution

The BlackBerry smartphone user must immediately do a hard reset on the BlackBerry smartphone. For instructions, see KB02141.

If the BlackBerry smartphone user ignores the message or chooses to restart the BlackBerry smartphone later, the BlackBerry Enterprise Server will continue to push the application to the BlackBerry smartphone every four hours until the BlackBerry smartphone is restarted.

Note: If a previous version of the application is not found on the BlackBerry smartphone, the BlackBerry smartphone user will not be prompted to restart the BlackBerry smartphone.

Disclaimer

By downloading, accessing or otherwise using the Knowledge Base documents you agree:

   (a) that the terms of use for the documents found at www.blackberry.com/legal/knowledgebase apply to your use or reference to these documents; and

   (b) not to copy, distribute, disclose or reproduce, in full or in part any of the documents without the express written consent of RIM.


Visit the BlackBerry Technical Solution Center at www.blackberry.com/btsc.