How to delete all data and applications from the BlackBerry smartphone using the Security Wipe option

Article ID: KB14058

Type: Support Content

Last Modified: 10-22-2013

 

Product(s) Affected:

  • BlackBerry Bold smartphones
  • BlackBerry Curve smartphones
  • BlackBerry Pearl smartphones
  • BlackBerry Storm smartphones
  • BlackBerry Style 9670
  • BlackBerry Torch smartphones
  • BlackBerry Tour 9630
  • Porsche Design P’9981 smartphone from BlackBerry
  • Past Devices
CollapseEnvironment
  • BlackBerry smartphones
  • BlackBerry Device Software 4.5 to 5.0
  • BlackBerry 6 to BlackBerry 7.1 
CollapseOverview

To delete all data and applications from the BlackBerry smartphone, complete the following steps on the appropriate version of BlackBerry Device Software installed on the BlackBerry smartphone.

Warning: The following procedures delete either all data, or all data and applications (including files in the on-board media storage) on the BlackBerry smartphone. Back up the data on the BlackBerry smartphone before proceeding. For instructions on performing a backup of the BlackBerry smartphone, please refer to the BlackBerry Desktop Software user guide.

Note:   If Content Protection is turned on, the process for deleting all data and applications from the BlackBerry smartphone can take up to an hour to complete. Do not remove the battery from the BlackBerry smartphone while data is being deleted.

For BlackBerry 10 OS:

For steps to Security Wipe the BlackBerry 10 smartphone, see KB33591.

For BlackBerry 6.0 to 7.1:

  1. From the Home screen of the BlackBerry smartphone, click Options > Security > Security Wipe.
  2. Select the appropriate check boxes to remove data and applications as intended.
  3. Type blackberry, and click Wipe Data.

For BlackBerry Device Software 5.0:

  1. From the Home screen of the BlackBerry smartphone, click Options > Security Options > Security Wipe.
  2. Select the appropriate check boxes to remove data and applications as intended.
  3. Type blackberry, and click Wipe.

For BlackBerry Device Software 4.5 to 4.7:

  1. From the Home screen of the BlackBerry smartphone, click Options > Security Options > General Settings.
  2. Press the Menu key, and select the Wipe Handheld option.
  3. Select the Include third-party applications check box to remove third-party applications. Clear the check box to preserve third-party applications.
  4. Click Continue.
  5. Type blackberry, and press the Enter key.
CollapseAdditional Information

Once the security wipe has been completed, email delivery will have been stopped. The BlackBerry Internet Service account may need to be re-associated to the BlackBerry smartphone to restore email delivery to the device. For more information, see  KB28225. If the smartphone is activated on a BlackBerry Enterprise Server, a security wipe will stop email flow and organizer data (Contacts, Calendar, Tasks, Memos) sync, and will need to to go through the enterprise activation process again in order to restore email and organizer data sync functionality.

Disclaimer

By downloading, accessing or otherwise using the Knowledge Base documents you agree:

   (a) that the terms of use for the documents found at www.blackberry.com/legal/knowledgebase apply to your use or reference to these documents; and

   (b) not to copy, distribute, disclose or reproduce, in full or in part any of the documents without the express written consent of RIM.


Visit the BlackBerry Technical Solution Center at www.blackberry.com/btsc.