How to remove an IT policy from a BlackBerry smartphone

Article ID: KB14202

Type: Support Content

Last Modified: 01-07-2013

 

Product(s) Affected:

  • Porsche Design P’9981 Smartphone from BlackBerry
  • Past Devices
  • Desktop Software (Windows)
  • Desktop Software (Mac OS)
  • BlackBerry Enterprise Server
  • BlackBerry Bold
  • BlackBerry Curve
  • BlackBerry Pearl
  • BlackBerry Storm
  • BlackBerry Style 9670
  • BlackBerry Torch
  • BlackBerry Tour 9630
CollapseEnvironment
  • BlackBerry Enterprise Server
  • BlackBerry Desktop Software 4.7 to 6.1
  • BlackBerry Desktop Software 2.2 for Mac
  • BlackBerry Device Software 4.3 to 5.0
  • BlackBerry 6
  • BlackBerry 7
  • Windows
  • Mac OS
CollapseOverview

When a BlackBerry smartphone is removed from the BlackBerry Enterprise Server, the BlackBerry smartphone may retain an IT policy that was assigned to the user during the original enterprise activation, and as a result can restrict access to certain features.

To remove an IT policy from a BlackBerry smartphone, use one of the following methods:


Method 1

Before removing the account from the BlackBerry Enterprise Server, create a blank IT policy on the BlackBerry Enterprise Server, and assign it to the BlackBerry smartphone user account. For more information on how to create a blank IT policy, see KB02022.


Method 2

If using BlackBerry Enterprise Server 4.1 SP4 to 5.0 SP2, create a blank IT policy and then remove the IT policy from the BlackBerry smartphone using the Remote Wipe Reset to Factory Defaults rule.

Warning: This procedure can delete either all data, or all data and applications on the BlackBerry smartphone. Back up the data before performing this procedure. For more information on how to back up data, see KB12487.

  1. Create a blank IT policy on the BlackBerry Enterprise Server with the Remote Wipe Reset to Factory Defaults rule in the Security Policy Group area set to True. For more information on how to create a blank IT policy, see KB02022.

  2. Assign the IT policy to the BlackBerry smartphone user account. For more information on how to assign an IT policy, see KB02022.

  3. Click the user account in the BlackBerry Manager, then expand the IT Admin section in the Tasks area.

  4. Select Erase Data and Disable Handheld.


Method 3

If using BlackBerry Enterprise Server 5.0 to 5.0 SP4 for Microsoft Exchange, the BlackBerry Administration Service gives the option to remove any custom IT policies from the BlackBerry smartphone user's account without having to security wipe the BlackBerry smartphone. The Clear IT Policy option on the BlackBerry Administration Service will remove the custom IT policy and apply the default IT policy to the BlackBerry smartphone user's account.

  1. Log into the BlackBerry Administration Service.

  2. Navigate to BlackBerry Solution Management -> Users -> Manage Users.

  3. Select the BlackBerry smartphone users to remove the IT policy for.

  4. Click on Clear IT Policy for user under the Remove from User Configuration heading.

Note: This option is not available at the user level. The default IT policy will be applied by design. Please ensure that the default IT policy has not been modified in the environment when using this option.


Method 4

Perform a factory reset on the BlackBerry smartphone using BlackBerry Desktop Software. For more information on performing a factory reset, please see KB18998.

CollapseAdditional Information

Although a blank IT policy will provide the same functionality as a BlackBerry smartphone with no IT policy, in most cases some minor changes also are reset when the Remote Wipe Reset to Factory Defaults option is used.

With the release of BlackBerry Enterprise Server 4.1 SP4 and BlackBerry Device Software 4.2.2, the Remote Wipe Reset to Factory Defaults IT policy rule allows administrators to remove the IT policy from a BlackBerry smartphone and restore all factory default settings.

When a system administrator applies the Remote Wipe Reset to Factory Defaults IT policy rule and then applies the Erase Data and Disable Handheld command to a BlackBerry smartphone user account, the following changes occur on the BlackBerry smartphone:

  • All data is erased.
  • All third-party applications are removed.
  • The IT policy is removed.
  • Factory default settings are implemented.

Disclaimer

By downloading, accessing or otherwise using the Knowledge Base documents you agree:

   (a) that the terms of use for the documents found at www.blackberry.com/legal/knowledgebase apply to your use or reference to these documents; and

   (b) not to copy, distribute, disclose or reproduce, in full or in part any of the documents without the express written consent of RIM.


Visit the BlackBerry Technical Solution Center at www.blackberry.com/btsc.