"The default service for your device has changed" when syncing with the BlackBerry smartphone

Article ID: KB20387

Type: Support Content

Last Modified: 03-26-2012

 

Product(s) Affected:

  • BlackBerry Desktop Software for Windows
  • BlackBerry Desktop Software for Mac OS
CollapseEnvironment
  • BlackBerry® Desktop Software
  • BlackBerry® Desktop Software for Mac
  • BlackBerry® smartphones
CollapseOverview

Click for Windows or Mac instructions.

Windows

After changing the default service on the BlackBerry smartphone from one service to another, and after performing an initial synchronization, the BlackBerry Desktop Software displays the following informational window:

The default service for your device's Calendar has changed from "Desktop" to <user>@gmail.com.

Click Yes to continue using your original default service from the last time you synchronized.

Click No to use your new default service and combine your data, which might duplicate some entries

Click Cancel to stop the synchronization and revisit your default service options on your device.  On your device, click the Options icon, then Advanced Options > Default services.

If you want to return to your default settings, you can click Reset configuration in the Synchronize configuration section of BlackBerry® Desktop Manager

In BlackBerry Desktop Software 5.0.1 to 6.1 comes the ability with BlackBerry Device Software 5.0 to BlackBerry 7.1 to select the previous calendar service used to synchronize with in case the default service has changed.

Selecting Yes allows to continue the synchronization with the original default service.
Selecting No allows to continue the synchronization with the new default service. However this might cause duplication of some entries.
Selecting Cancel stops the synchronization with no changes made and allows the changes to the default services on the BlackBerry smartphone if required.

On BlackBerry smartphones running versions earlier than BlackBerry Device Software 5.0, the computer may display the following message informing there has been a change:

The default service for your device's "Address Book" has changed since the last time you synchronized

Click OK to use your new default service and combine your data, which might duplicate some entries.
Click Cancel to stop the synchronization and revisit your default service options on your device. On your device, click the Options icon, then Advanced Options > Default services.



Selecting OK, synchronization continues, but there is a possibility of data duplication.
Selecting Cancel, synchronization stops and information is not transferred.

If the previously synchronized service is no longer available on the BlackBerry smartphone, the following warning message appears:

The default service for your device's "Calendar" is no longer available.  The new service for synchronization is "<user>@blackberry.com".

Click OK to continue synchronizing your data with your new default service
Click Cancel to stop the synchronization, revisit your default service options on your device and try to use your original default service from the last time you synchronized.  On your device, click the Options icon, then Advanced Options > Default services.


Selecting OK to continue, the synchronization continues using the new default service.
Selecting Cancel, the synchronization stops. 

Mac

After changing the default service on the BlackBerry smartphone from one service to another, and after performing an initial synchronization, the BlackBerry Desktop Software displays the following informational window:

The service for your device's Calendar has changed.

Selecting Merge data the synchronization will continue but there is a possibility of data duplication
Selecting Replace device data the device's calendar data will be replaced with what is stored in iCal.
Selecting Skip Calendar sync will stop the synchronization process.

CollapseCause
The Default Service has changed for the organizer data that BlackBerry Desktop Software is attempting to sync with.
CollapseResolution
Device Software 5.0

  1. Click on the Options icon
  2. Click Advanced Options
  3. Choose Default Services
  4. Change the appropriate organizer data that is affected
Device Software 6.0
  1. Click on the Options icon
  2. Choose Device
  3. Click Advanced System Settings
  4. Choose Default Services
  5. Change the appropriate organizer data that is affected to the default

Disclaimer

By downloading, accessing or otherwise using the Knowledge Base documents you agree:

   (a) that the terms of use for the documents found at www.blackberry.com/legal/knowledgebase apply to your use or reference to these documents; and

   (b) not to copy, distribute, disclose or reproduce, in full or in part any of the documents without the express written consent of RIM.


Visit the BlackBerry Technical Solution Center at www.blackberry.com/btsc.