"Work data wipe is pending" prompt appears with a countdown on the BlackBerry smartphone

Article ID: KB25053

Type: Support Content

Last Modified: 12-14-2011

 

Product(s) Affected:

  • BlackBerry Enterprise Server for Novell GroupWise
  • BlackBerry Enterprise Server for Microsoft Exchange
  • BlackBerry 7 OS and earlier
  • BlackBerry Enterprise Server for IBM Lotus Domino
Jump to: Environment | Overview
CollapseEnvironment
  • BlackBerry® Enterprise Server 5.0 SP2
  • BlackBerry® Device Software 6 bundle 1478 or later
CollapseOverview

With the release of BlackBerry® device software 6 bundle 1478 or later, the ability for an administrator to remove only work related data for a BlackBerry smartphone is now available. The functionality has been available since BlackBerry Enterprise Server 5.0 SP2. 

When the policy is applied, the BlackBerry smartphone user will see a prompt similar to the following:

After clicking OK or letting the timer expire, a progress bar will appear for a period of time. When it completes, the BlackBerry smartphone user will be presented with a prompt requesting to restart the BlackBerry smartphone as shown below:

Disclaimer

By downloading, accessing or otherwise using the Knowledge Base documents you agree:

   (a) that the terms of use for the documents found at www.blackberry.com/legal/knowledgebase apply to your use or reference to these documents; and

   (b) not to copy, distribute, disclose or reproduce, in full or in part any of the documents without the express written consent of RIM.


Visit the BlackBerry Technical Solution Center at www.blackberry.com/btsc.