Yahoo messenger nickname is changed after logging out.

Article ID: KB25831

Type: Support Content

Last Modified: 12-14-2011

 

Product(s) Affected:

  • Yahoo! Messenger for BlackBerry smartphones
CollapseEnvironment
Yahoo!® Messenger 2.5.69
DT1120364
CollapseOverview
When changing the nickname and then logging out, nickname reverts back to what it was before the change.
CollapseCause

The changes made to the Yahoo! nickname are not saved upon signing out and back in.

CollapseResolution
This is a previously reported issue that is being investigated by our development team. A resolution is currently unavailable.
CollapseWorkaround

If a custom nickname is desired then the nickname should be changed on each login.

NOTE: The nickname can be changed using the Yahoo! instant messaging client for a personal computer, however the changes made to the nickname using the Yahoo! instant messaging desktop client are not reflected on the BlackBerry smartphone.

Disclaimer

By downloading, accessing or otherwise using the Knowledge Base documents you agree:

   (a) that the terms of use for the documents found at www.blackberry.com/legal/knowledgebase apply to your use or reference to these documents; and

   (b) not to copy, distribute, disclose or reproduce, in full or in part any of the documents without the express written consent of RIM.


Visit the BlackBerry Technical Solution Center at www.blackberry.com/btsc.