How to perform a Security Wipe on the BlackBerry 10 smartphone

Article ID: KB33591

Type: Support Content

Last Modified: 10-22-2013

 

Product(s) Affected:

  • BlackBerry 10
  • BlackBerry Z10
  • BlackBerry Q10
CollapseEnvironment
  • BlackBerry 10 OS
CollapseOverview

To delete all data, applications, and media from the BlackBerry 10 smartphone, complete the following steps.

Warning: The following procedures will delete all data, applications, media (including files and pictures/video taken on the smartphone or transferred from a computer), and revert all settings to defaults on the BlackBerry 10 smartphone. Back up the data on the smartphone before proceeding. For instructions on performing a backup of the smartphone, refer to BlackBerry Link User Guide.  

To perform a security wipe on the BlackBerry 10 smartphone, complete the following:

Note: Ensure that the BlackBerry 10 smartphone is plugged into a power source to prevent power loss during the security wipe process.

  1. Swipe down from the top of the home screen and tap Settings.
  2. Tap Security and Privacy > Security Wipe.
  3. Enter the word blackberry in the text field to confirm that you wish to continue with the Security Wipe.
  4. Tap Delete Data to intiate the security wipe process.
    Note: The security wipe process can take in excess of 15 minutes to complete. During the Security Wipe it is extremely important that the operation is left to complete on it's own. For information on expected time to perform a security wipe see KB33494.

Warning: Do not attempt to restart the smartphone or pull the battery until the security wipe has fully completed. If the security wipe is interrupted (for instance, if the battery is removed during the process), then the BlackBerry 10 OS may need to be reloaded. For instructions on reloading a BlackBerry 10 smartphone after an interrupted Security Wipe see KB33480.

Once the security wipe has completed, the initial setup will need to be completed before the smartphone can be used.

CollapseAdditional Information

When completing a security wipe, applications purchased through BlackBerry World will be deleted from the smartphone, but will still be associated to the BlackBerry ID they were purchased with. To reinstall these applications:

  1. Open BlackBerry World.
  2. Select the Uninstalled tab.
  3. Locate the desired application in the list and tap the Reinstall button next to the application.

For steps to delete all data and applications from BlackBerry smartphones running BlackBerry 6 to 7.1 or BlackBerry Device Software 4.5 to 5.0, see KB14058.

Disclaimer

By downloading, accessing or otherwise using the Knowledge Base documents you agree:

   (a) that the terms of use for the documents found at www.blackberry.com/legal/knowledgebase apply to your use or reference to these documents; and

   (b) not to copy, distribute, disclose or reproduce, in full or in part any of the documents without the express written consent of RIM.


Visit the BlackBerry Technical Solution Center at www.blackberry.com/btsc.