Unable to backup or restore some databases to a BlackBerry smartphone using BlackBerry Desktop Software

Article ID: KB04461

Type: Support Content

Last Modified: 09-27-2012

 

Product(s) Affected:

  • BlackBerry 7 OS and earlier
  • BlackBerry Internet Service
  • Desktop Software (Windows)
  • Desktop Software (Mac OS)
  • BlackBerry Enterprise Server
Jump to: Environment | Overview | Cause
CollapseEnvironment
  • BlackBerry Enterprise Server 4.0 to 5.0 SP3
  • BlackBerry Internet Service
  • BlackBerry Desktop Software
  • BlackBerry Device Software 4.0 to 5.0
  • BlackBerry 6
  • BlackBerry 7
CollapseOverview

In the backup or restore function of BlackBerry Desktop Software, some of the databases appear greyed out and cannot be selected to restore to the BlackBerry smartphone.

BlackBerry Desktop Software will display the following when attempting to backup or restore a database that is greyed out:

Dimmed entries are read-only types and cannot be restored.


 


Complete the following steps in order until resolution is confirmed: 

 

Step 1 - Verify on the BlackBerry smartphone the wireless synchronization feature is turned on for the Calendar, Address Book, MemoPad, or Tasks applications.

Disable wireless synchronization for the appropriate organizer applications (Calendar, Address Book, MemoPad or Tasks). For more information, see article KB04976.

Once wireless synchronization has been disabled for the organizer applications, perform the backup or restore of the selected organizer databases to the BlackBerry smartphone.  For more information on backing up and restoring using BlackBerry Desktop Software, please refer to the user guide.

Once the backup or restore has been completed, wireless synchronization can be turned back on.


Step 2 - The database to be backed up or restored is being backed up wirelessly through a BlackBerry® Enterprise Server.

 

The Desktop [SYNC] service book marks the databases as read-only, preventing the data from being backed up or restored using a cable and BlackBerry Desktop Software.

Delete the Desktop [SYNC] service book. For instructions, see KB05010 and complete only Task 1.

Once the service book has been deleted, perform the backup or restore of the selected databases from BlackBerry Desktop Software.  For more information on backing up and restoring using BlackBerry Desktop Software, please refer to the user guide.

Once the backup or restore is complete, the Desktop [SYNC] service book can be undeleted to restore wireless synchronization by performing the following actions:

If the BlackBerry smartphone is running BlackBerry Device Software 4.0 to 5.0

  1. From the home screen of the BlackBerry smartphone, click Options > Advanced Options > Service Book
  2. Click the menu key, and select Undelete

If the BlackBerry smartphone is running BlackBerry® 6 or BlackBerry® 7

  1. From the home screen of the BlackBerry smartphone, click Options > Device > Advanced System Settings > Service Book
  2. Click the menu key, and select Undelete
CollapseCause
This will occur when the BlackBerry smartphone has wireless synchronization enabled through the BlackBerry Enterprise Server or BlackBerry Internet Service. Wireless synchronization will need to be turned off to prevent this from occurring in the future.

Disclaimer

By downloading, accessing or otherwise using the Knowledge Base documents you agree:

   (a) that the terms of use for the documents found at www.blackberry.com/legal/knowledgebase apply to your use or reference to these documents; and

   (b) not to copy, distribute, disclose or reproduce, in full or in part any of the documents without the express written consent of RIM.


Visit the BlackBerry Technical Solution Center at www.blackberry.com/btsc.