BlackBerry Desktop Software prompts to delete a high number of calendar entries during a wired synchronization

Article ID: KB16261

Type: Support Content

Last Modified: 03-14-2014

 

Product(s) Affected:

  • Desktop Software (Windows)
  • Desktop Software (Mac OS)
CollapseEnvironment
  • BlackBerry Desktop Software 7.1
  • BlackBerry Desktop Software for Mac 2.4
  • BlackBerry smartphones
  • Microsoft Windows
  • Mac OS X
CollapseOverview
During a wired synchronization, the BlackBerry Desktop Software prompts for a high number of deletions of calendar entries although no calendar entries were deleted from the BlackBerry smartphone.
CollapseCause
Keep Appointments within the calendar application is set to a value other than Forever, and the BlackBerry Desktop Software is set to synchronize all scheduled events. In a practical example, assume Keep Appointments within the BlackBerry smartphone's calendar application is set to 60 days. Calendar entries older than 60 days will be purged from the BlackBerry smartphone's calendar. When subsequently synchronizing with the BlackBerry Desktop Software, the BlackBerry Desktop Software will assume the deletions should also be applied to the organizer application on the computer. The Desktop Software will then prompt that a high number of deletions are about to take place.
CollapseResolution

Before performing any of the posted resolutions, be sure to complete a backup of the BlackBerry smartphone. For instructions on backing up data using BlackBerry Desktop Software 7.1, see KB12487 for PC or KB18776 for Mac.

Resolution 1: Restore old calendar events to the BlackBerry smartphone.

This resolution should be used if all of the past and future calendar events are required to be on the BlackBerry smartphone. If the past appointments are not required on the BlackBerry smartphone, see Resolution 2.

To adjust the Keep Appointments setting, complete the following steps:

  1. Open the calendar on the device.
  2. Click the Menu key and choose Options.
  3. Click General Options or Calendar Display and Actions.
  4. Change the Keep Appointments option to Forever.

Once the Keep Appointments setting has been set to Forever, the old deleted calendar appointments will need to be restored to the BlackBerry smartphone.

If the computer organizer application contains all of the calendar appointments that are needed, reconfigure the BlackBerry Desktop Software to synchronize one way from the computer to the device.

For BlackBerry Desktop Software 7.1

  1. Connect the smartphone to the computer with a USB cable and open BlackBerry Desktop Software.
  2. Select Organizer from the main menu.
  3. Click on Configure... button in front of Calendar.
  4. Select the Sync direction to One way to your device only.
  5. Check the option to Replace all entries on your device with the entries on your computer.
  6. Select All Calendar entries.
  7. In the Account Settings section, in the Calendar drop-down list, click the calendar application that you use on your computer.
  8. Click Configure button beside the drop-down list and select the location of your Calendar file.
  9. Click OK and perform a new synchronization.

For BlackBerry Desktop Software 2.4 (Mac OS)

  1. Connect the smartphone to the Mac with a USB cable and open BlackBerry Desktop Manager.
  2. Select Calendar.
  3. Select Two-Way.
  4. Select All Calendars or Selected Calendar, and checkmark calendars to use during synchronization.
  5. Select Advanced Settings and select the option to Replace all calendar on this BlackBerry device.
  6. Click Sync.

Once the one way synchronization has been completed, reset the synchronization settings back to Two way sync.  For BlackBerry Desktop Software for Mac OS, uncheck the option to Replace all calendar on this BlackBerry device.

NOTE: If the BlackBerry smartphone contains new calendar events that have not yet been synchronized over to the desktop organizer application on the computer, reset the synchronization configuration in BlackBerry Desktop Software.  This will reset the sync history in BlackBerry Desktop Software so that the next synchronization will not prompt for any deletions.  Do note that this will reset the synchronization configuration for all PIM organizer applications.

To reset the synchronization settings for BlackBerry Desktop Software 7.1

  1. Connect the smartphone to the computer with a USB cable and open BlackBerry Desktop Software.
  2. Select Organizer from the main menu.
  3. Select Reset settings

To reset the synchronization settings for BlackBerry Desktop Software 2.2 to 2.3 for Mac OS, see KB21318

Once the synchronization settings have been reset, reconfigure all of the required PIM organizer applications in BlackBerry Desktop Software.


Resolution 2: Reconfigure the synchronization for future events only

This resolution should be used if the past calendar appointments are only needed on the desktop organizer application, and not the BlackBerry smartphone.

For BlackBerry Desktop Software 7.1

  1. Connect the smartphone to the computer with a USB cable and open BlackBerry Desktop Software.
  2. Select Organizer from the main menu.
  3. Click the Configure Settings button.
  4. Select Calendar.
  5. Select the desktop application to synchronize with and click Next.
  6. Select Two way sync and click Next.
  7. Select the appropriate profile to synchronize with (Microsoft Outlook only).
  8. For the Calendar date range, select the option to Transfer only future items and click Next.
  9. Continue through the configuration wizard, click Finish, and then click OK.
  10. Perform a new synchronization.

For BlackBerry Desktop Software 2.4 (Mac OS)

  1. Connect the smartphone to the Mac with a USB cable and open BlackBerry Desktop Manager.
  2. Select Calendar.
  3. Select Two-Way.
  4. Select All Calendars or Selected Calendar, and check-mark calendars to use during synchronization.
  5. Select Advanced Settings and select Sync: Only future events
  6. Click Sync.
CollapseAdditional Information

BlackBerry Desktop Software can also be configured to synchronize a range of events with the desktop organizer application. If the BlackBerry smartphone is configured to keep appointments for a set number of days, the range of items in the past should match the Keep Appointments setting on the BlackBerry smartphone.

For example, if the BlackBerry smartphone is configured to keep appointments for 60 days, the BlackBerry Desktop software should be configure to synchronize items 60 days prior and 365 days in the future.

With this configuration, the BlackBerry Desktop Software will ignore any changes to calendar appointments older than 60 days. This will allow the BlackBerry smartphone to delete the calendar events older than 60 days without prompting BlackBerry Desktop Software to delete the items from the desktop organizer application.

Disclaimer

By downloading, accessing or otherwise using the Knowledge Base documents you agree:

   (a) that the terms of use for the documents found at www.blackberry.com/legal/knowledgebase apply to your use or reference to these documents; and

   (b) not to copy, distribute, disclose or reproduce, in full or in part any of the documents without the express written consent of RIM.


Visit the BlackBerry Technical Solution Center at www.blackberry.com/btsc.