How to perform a security wipe on a BlackBerry PlayBook tablet

Article ID: KB27188

Type: Support Content

Last Modified: 10-12-2012

 

Product(s) Affected:

  • BlackBerry PlayBook tablets
CollapseEnvironment
  • BlackBerry PlayBook tablet
CollapseOverview

This article covers how to wipe data on a BlackBerry® PlayBook™ tablet.

Warning: Before performing a security wipe of the BlackBerry PlayBook tablet, be advised of the following:

  • A security wipe of the BlackBerry PlayBook tablet will erase all data and any downloaded applications and media (Including pictures/video taken on the BlackBerry PlayBook tablet or transferred via a PC)
    • For information on how to back up data on a BlackBerry PlayBook tablet, see KB26134.
    • For information on how to restore backed up data to a BlackBerry PlayBook tablet, see KB26135.
    • To transfer media and documents saved on a BlackBerry PlayBook tablet to a PC before a security wipe, see KB26068.
  • Applications purchased through BlackBerry App World on the BlackBerry PlayBook tablet will still be associated to the BlackBerry ID they were purchased from but will be removed from the BlackBerry PlayBook tablet upon a security wipe.
    • These purchased applications can be reinstalled through BlackBerry App World at a later time. Under the Uninstalled tab, tap the Reinstall button next to the application to reload.
  • Any configuration changes made to the BlackBerry PlayBook tablet (Including Bluetooth pairing information, settings changes, etc.) will be reset to defaults after a security wipe is performed.
  • Depending on the amount of data stored and the capacity of the BlackBerry PlayBook tablet (16 GB/32 GB/64 GB), the security wipe may take longer than expected. Ensure that the BlackBerry PlayBook tablet is plugged into the power outlet to prevent power loss during the security wipe.
  • Once the security wipe has been completed, the initial setup will need to be completed before the BlackBerry Playbook can be used. For more information on completing the initial setup on the BlackBerry PlayBook tablet, please see KB26228.

To perform a security wipe of the BlackBerry PlayBook tablet, complete the following:

  1. Swipe down from the top bezel or select the Settings icon.
  2. Tap Security > Security Wipe.
  3. Enter the word blackberry to confirm the Security Wipe.
  4. Tap Wipe Data.
CollapseAdditional Information
After a security wipe, Tetris and Need For Speed Undercover will be removed from the BlackBerry PlayBook tablet. To reinstall these applications, complete the following:
  1. Open BlackBerry App World on the BlackBerry PlayBook tablet
  2. Tap into the Search field
  3. Type EA Tetris and tap Return on the keyboard (Type EA Undercover to locate Need For Speed Undercover)
  4. Tap the Tetris for PlayBook icon (Should indicate the price is FREE)
  5. Tap Download 

Disclaimer

By downloading, accessing or otherwise using the Knowledge Base documents you agree:

   (a) that the terms of use for the documents found at www.blackberry.com/legal/knowledgebase apply to your use or reference to these documents; and

   (b) not to copy, distribute, disclose or reproduce, in full or in part any of the documents without the express written consent of RIM.


Visit the BlackBerry Technical Solution Center at www.blackberry.com/btsc.