After performing a two-way sync, all contacts and appointments imported with the previous version of BlackBerry Link are duplicated

Article ID: KB34413

Type: Support Content

Last Modified: 06-06-2013

 

Product(s) Affected:

  • BlackBerry Link
CollapseEnvironment
  • BlackBerry Link version 1.1.1
  • PR 348353
CollapseOverview

After performing a 2-way synchronization with BlackBerry Link version 1.1.1, all of the contacts and appointments that were imported using BlackBerry Link version 1.1 appear as duplicates in the Contacts and Calendar applications on the smartphone.

CollapseResolution
This is a previously reported issue that is being investigated by our development team. A resolution is currently unavailable.
CollapseWorkaround

Complete the following:

  • Manually delete the duplicate contacts.
  • Link the contacts to remove the duplicates from view.
  • Select SettingsAccounts, then select the cross cut action button (3 vertical dots) at the bottom-right and select Clear Local Contacts or Clear Local Calendar.
     
    Note: By clearing the local database, more than the duplicates may be lost. Perform a backup first to avoid data loss. BlackBerry Link does not sync the Local Calendar to Microsoft Outlook. Ensure all appointments created or updated on the BlackBerry smartphone are manually entered in Microsoft Outlook.

 

Disclaimer

By downloading, accessing or otherwise using the Knowledge Base documents you agree:

   (a) that the terms of use for the documents found at www.blackberry.com/legal/knowledgebase apply to your use or reference to these documents; and

   (b) not to copy, distribute, disclose or reproduce, in full or in part any of the documents without the express written consent of RIM.


Visit the BlackBerry Technical Solution Center at www.blackberry.com/btsc.